TecTecTec KLYR Rangefinder Review

TecTecTec were one of the original companies to disrupt the rangefinder market – offering golfers all the tech of bigger brands for a fraction of the cost. Now they are back with their latest offering the TecTecTec KLYR – pronounced TecTecTec ‘clear’.

Here we do what we do best, and provide a detailed, objective review of the TecTecTec KLYR so you can decide if it is the rangefinder for you.

TLDR

  • INCREDIBLY QUICK
  • More accurate than most
  • Needs a little more care from outside 170-yards
  • Very cool design
  • Compact, light-weight
  • Great value

The KLYR offers great accuracy inside 150-yards and is pretty solid outside 150-yards. The KLYR is incredibly quick, simple and fun to use. It offers better speed and almost comparable accuracy to rangefinders twice its price, leaving you spare golfing cash to spend elsewhere…or on more golf gear.

Want to read more? Here is our full review.

Functional accuracy

Most rangefinders claim to be accurate within 1-yard in factory testing. However, lab-based testing with a fixed rangefinder and fixed target doesn’t always translate to high levels of functional accuracy out on the golf course with flags, background trees and gusts of wind.

To help address this we run functional accuracy testing with each rangefinder against the best performing premium and budget rangefinders in the market.

A close up of our testing target. Replicating a highly challenging real-life scenario for a rangefinder.
A close up of our testing target. Replicating a highly challenging real-life scenario for a rangefinder.

The TecTecTec KLYR performed really well, twice as accurate as similar priced alternatives and close to rangefinders double the price from 100-yards and closer. Outside 150-yards it is still good, with measurements usually within a yard, but the odd 2-4 yard error did appear.

Full testing data can be found here, but below is a summary table. The key takeaway is the TecTecTec KLYR is accurate enough for all bar elite players. Inside 150-yards it is more accurate than nearly all comparably priced rangefinders (within 1-yard) and outside 150-yards it works very well but gives the odd reading with more error (2 to 4-yards) in challenging situations.

TecTecTec KLYRSimilar-priced rangefinderPremium-priced rangefinderTecTecTec KLYR
(Abs error)
Similarly priced alternative (Abs error)Premium-priced rangefinder (Abs error)
50-yards50.352.050.20.32.00.3
100-yards99.3102.0100.30.72.00.3
150-yards151.3152.0150.11.32.00.1
Summary data from functional testing. Rangefinders were tested in a pseudo-randomised order across. Non-slope distances were taken from all rangefinders. All distances in yards. The absolute error (Abs) was calculated as the sum of squares.

Speed

Speed has become more of an issue with modern rangefinders. More fancy pin-seeking software has slowed down some of the premium models. The TecTecTec KLYR is impressively quick. Point, zap and within 0.2 seconds you have a yardage, and a buzz if you’re using the pin seeker mode.

This is a big plus if you’re after speed. Many rangefinders show a yardage but are slow on the pin-seeker front. If you’re after more speed the TecTecTec KLYR should certainly be top of your list.

Modes

The KLYR has a pin-seeker and scan mode that can be switched between with a press of a button, then a switch on the side allows you to turn the slope function on/off, making this tournament legal. Impressive stuff given the price of the TecTecTec KLYR.

TecTecTec slope on off switch
The TecTecTec switch shifts the KLYR from slope to non-slope modes.

Visuals & optics

The TecTecTec KLYR ‘clear’ should give you an indication that this new product has a clear display and improved optics from the company’s previous models. The eyepiece can be simply twisted to tweak the magnification, and once set, you’ll likely never have to touch this again.

The simple crosshair and big yardage work well on scan mode. A pin then appears on pin-seeker mode, and with the slope mode, on ‘slope adjusted’ and ‘actual’ yardages jump onto the screen. Even with slope mode, the display is simple and clean, which is something other rangefinders struggle with.

Usability

The TecTecTec KLYR comes with a cool carry case, and a magnetic belt clip for golfers who carry or use a golf trolly. The KLYR will also magnetically attach to the side of a buggy – giving you great flexibility in how you use this rangefinder.

I the carry case is excellent, with a full zip, and an elasticated band that allows you to drop your rangefinder in and out when it is attached to your golf bag.

It’s weird to describe a rangefinder as ‘fun’, but this does feel fun and cool to use. I feel this is in part down to its speed and every mode just working well.

The only usability fault I can pick with the TecTecTec KLYR is the odd miss-calculated yardage from 180 yards and over. This didn’t happen often on the golf course, but around 3-5 times throughout a round of golf, compared to 1-2 with top-dollar rangefinders.

Build quality

This is no Aston Martin, more like a cool mid-range sports car. Like all mid-priced and budget rangefinders this has a plastic casing and lacks the weighty feel compared to premium rangefinders, but the styling and colouring are cool and the design is well thought out.

TecTecTec says this is water-resistant, meaning you can use it in all conditions, but be sure to dry it off after the round.

Value

The KLYR offers very good accuracy, scan-mode, pin-seeker mode and slope function for under $200…and it looks cool! No complaints here.

Golf Insider verdict

The TecTecTec KLYR is half the price of premium rangefinders, offering all the same functions. For most golfers, this is a great choice over more expensive alternatives. The KLYR is also one of the most accurate rangefinders under $200 and offers great usability.

For more elite players, you may want to spend more to get the accuracy levels offered by the premium rangefinders, but for casual golfers and club players, this is a great pick.

Frequently asked questions

Below are a few questions you may have before buying.

What is the difference between the TecTecTec KLYR and the VPro 500

The KLYR has the ability to turn slope on/off, making it tournament legal. The KLYR also has a new optics system for a clearer view and greater precision.

What else comes with the TecTecTec KLYR?

The rangefinder comes with a carry case, cleaning cloth, battery, belt clip, ball marker and manual.

What battery does the TecTecTec KLYR?

The TecTecTec KLYR takes a CR2 battery. One is included with the rangefinder.

TecTecTec KLYR rangefinder review – Full accuracy testing data

TecTecTec KLYRSimilarly priced alternativePremium-priced rangefinderTecTecTec KLYR (Abs error)Similarly priced alternative (Abs error)Premium-priced rangefinder (Abs error)
Pitch (50 yds)515249.9120.1
Pitch (50 yds)505150.3010.3
Pitch (50 yds)505350.4030.4
Avg.50.352.050.20.32.00.3
S.D.0.61.00.30.61.00.2
Wedge (100 yds)99102100.1120.1
Wedge (100 yds)100100100.1000.1
Wedge (100 yds)99104100.6140.6
Avg.99.3102.0100.30.72.00.3
S.D.0.62.00.30.62.00.3
Mid-iron (150 yds)154150150.1400.1
Mid-iron (150 yds)150151150.2010.2
Mid-iron (150 yds)150155150.1050.1
Avg.151.3152.0150.11.32.00.1
S.D.2.32.60.12.32.60.1
Rangefinders were tested in a pseudo-randomised order across. Non-slope distances were taken from all rangefinders. All distances in yards. The absolute error was calculated as the sum of squares.

For more reviews check out our complete best golf rangefinder guide.

Happy golfing – Will @ Golf Insider

How useful was this post?

Click on a trophy to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this article useful...

Would you mind sharing it to help me grow this site?

Sorry that this article was not useful for you.

Would you mind helping me improve this article?

Tell us how we can improve this post?

A PGA golf professional, with a PhD in Biomedical Science and MSc in Sports Biomechanics & Psychology. I currently spend my time lecturing part-time at Leeds Beckett University and working with elite athletes. In my spare time I build Golf Insider UK.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.